top of page

Acid Up



Hello everyone! I'll try to reestablish Blogsday Thursday at least and hopefully Book Recommendation Wednesday as well! But first, I wanted to update you on something I've been dealing with: acid reflux.


My Acid Reflux

Basically, my stomach has been producing too much acid and it's hurting my stomach, esophagus, and other parts of my body. Suffice to say, it's not fun and I've been dealing with it literally since the beginning of 2022. I've been careful of what I eat, drunk a lot of water, and had Tums with me as my constant companion. While it hasn't been fun, I've actually learned a lot from this experience.


Lessons God has Taught Me

1: Appreciate the sufferings of others - I know people who've gone through, and are still going through much worse than I am at the moment. However, my being in near constant pain gave me an appreciation for other's pain and only spurred me to learn how I can sooth and pray for their pains. 2 Corinthians 1:3-5 put this into perfect context: "Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too" (ESV).


2: Trust in God. He knows best - I can think of only one time when I felt so helpless and afraid and that was when I started college. That time, as with the acid reflux, I went to God in prayer continually. I learned to trust in Him as he truly knows more about what's happening with me than I do. Also, He made me and the world, so He knows what He's doing if He's allowing me to suffer like this. I don't know entirely why, but I do know that I have been driven closer to God because of this experience.


3: Be Thankful for the Good you Have- I wasn't really thankful for what I had before I was slapped with something that, for all that I knew, could kill me. Then I realized that I really do have much to be thankful for. I have a warm house with a bed, a computer to type this blog on, and an iPhone 13 to listen to music with as I write this. The list goes on, but I have learn that I should become more thankful of what I have, rather than focusing on just what's going wrong.


4: A Christian's Suffering is Temporary - When I realized how fragile and painful my life can be, I gained a greater appreciate for what will be in the future for Christians. Our physical bodies at the moment will crumble to dust, but our spirits will be with God. Then we'll get new and better bodies that won't experience pain or death ever again. As Paul said in 2 Corinthians 4:17-18 "For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal." (ESV). Our suffering now as Christians, means nothing in light of eternity. I'll try to remember that as I continue dealing with this acid reflux.


Where I'm at Now

At the moment, I have an appointment on Friday to have a test to see if a bacteria, the name of which escapes me, is responsible for the reflux and pain. If it is, I'll start antibacterial treatments. If not, I'll take on some acid reducing drugs (over the counter of course). I'll have more lighter things to talk about next Thursday and I'll be sure to update you on my test results.


Farewell!




Recent Posts

See All

"Behind Every Myth"

Creating or Using Existing Mythologies Rick Riordan. When you hear that name, the word "demigod" or "magician" is sure to follow in your brain. This is because he's become famous for integrating the G

bottom of page